Minister for Planning Minister for the Suburbs

1 Spring Street Melbourne, Victoria 3000 Australia

Ref: BMIN-1-24-3966

Ms Kathy Mitchell Chair (lead) Priority Projects Standing Advisory Committee Planning Panels Victoria planning.panels@delwp.vic.gov.au

Dear Kathy,

I refer to the Victorian Civil and Administrative tribunal VCAT application P1537/2024 which relates to the redevelopment of the land at 155 Johnson Street, Fitzroy. The project was referred to me by the Development Facilitation Program (DFP).

I advise that I have decided to call in the proceeding from VCAT under clause 58(2)(a) of *Schedule 1 to the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal Act 1998* as I consider that the proceeding raises are major issue of policy, and the determination of the proceeding may have a substantial effect on the achievement or development of planning objectives. I have also decided to refer the matter to the Priority Project Standing Advisory Committee for advice and any recommendations about appropriate permit conditions that should be imposed.

On 27 December 2024 the proponent filed an appeal with VCAT under section 79 of the Planning and Environment Act 1987 due to the City of Yarra's failure to determine the permit application within the prescribed time. On 4 March 2024 council officers resolved that if it had been able to determine the application it would have refused the proposal. The matters raised by council and third-party objectors to the permit application relate to building scale and design response, onsite and off-site amenity, traffic and car parking, acoustic attention and wind impact impacts.

The VCAT hearing was scheduled to commence on 11 November 2024 for a period of nine days.

The cost of the advisory committee will be met by the proponent, Greystar Australia.



Should you have any questions please contact Adam Henson, Director of Development Facilitation Program Department of Transport and Planning on adam.henson@transport.vic.gov.au.

Yours sincerely

The Hon Sonya Kilkenny MP Minister for Planning Minister for the Suburbs

Date: 16/10/2024

